

American Rescue Plan Act HCBS Initiative: \$500 Home Care Worker Supplemental Payment

Nevada Medicaid December 1, 2021

For more information: <u>AmericanRescuePlan@dhcfp.nv.gov</u>

Summary

Nevada has over 13,000 home care workers, predominately women and disproportionately minorities, who help with daily tasks to older Nevadans and persons with physical or intellectual disabilities (Sept. 2020 Guinn Center report). During a public listening session in June 2021, Nevada Medicaid found that home care workers were at risk of contracting COVID and buying their own protective equipment. To assist this critical workforce on the front lines of COVID-19, Nevada is offering a \$500 supplemental payment to currently employed home care workers employed as of November 1, 2021. Only employers may apply for payments on behalf of employees and participation is voluntary.

Direct Home Care Worker Supplemental Payment

- Who qualifies Home care workers with a valid National Provider Identification (NPI) number employed by the following types of enrolled Medicaid providers:
 - o Personal Care Services (PCS) agency, Intermediary Service Organization, or participant-directed model.
 - Those who provided PCS or certain Waiver services (attendant care, homemaker, chore, respite, or supported living arrangement services).
- What A one-time supplemental payment of \$500 to each eligible worker.
- When For eligible workers currently employed as of November 1, 2021.
- How The \$500 payment will be electronically issued to the worker's employer. The employer must pay the worker within 30 days of receipt of supplemental payment from Medicaid.

How to Apply for the Supplemental Payment

- Who Any interested Medicaid provider enrolled as a Provider Type 30, 38, 48, 58, or 83 may apply.
- *How* Complete <u>one</u> application for your organization and attach a roster of all the employees for which a supplemental payment is requested.
 - The employee roster is preferred in excel and must include the employee information requested in the application.
 - Submit the application and employee roster to <u>AmericanRescuePlan@dhcfp.nv.gov</u> with the Subject Line "Home Care Worker Supplemental Payment."
 - Nevada Medicaid will review the application and validate the employees submitted by each provider, including their NPI.
- When- Applications will be accepted starting December 13, 2021 through January 14, 2022:
 - Once Nevada Medicaid validates the application and employee roster (2-3-week process), the approved provider will receive an email confirming the employees who were determined eligible to receive the \$500 supplemental payment.
 - Lump-sum electronic payments will be issued to the approved provider before the end of March 2022.

Questions can be directed to <u>AmericanRescuePlan@dhcfp.nv.gov</u>. Nevada Medicaid cannot answer tax-related questions.